Skip to main content Skip to accessibility page Skip to search input

Bank of Melbourne has joined the search for local community achievers across regional Victoria.

The Bank is Prize Patron for the 2014 Victorian Regional Achievement & Community Awards, which recognise Victorians who are working to improve their town or region. The winners in seven of the nine categories will each receive a $2000 Bank of Melbourne bank account.

Bank of Melbourne Chief Executive Scott Tanner said it was inspiring to hear about the positive outcomes of the great work being done by people and groups across the state.

“We know there are many quiet achievers out there who are making a difference in their community every day,” Mr Tanner said.

“It’s important that we pay tribute to the ordinary Victorians who are achieving extraordinary things. They’re the people, community groups and businesses who are enhancing the social, economic, or environmental prosperity of their region.”

Hundreds of remarkable Victorians have been celebrated since the awards began 25 years ago. Last year’s winners included a Ballarat university student who encouraged school students to finish year 12, a young Gippsland indigenous leader studying medicine at university, a Wimmera school that repairs and donates bicycles, computers and other equipment for underprivileged people, and a Kinglake support group for survivors of the 2009 Black Saturday bushfires.

“We’re delighted to be involved with these prestigious awards that recognise and reward the valuable contributions of people, community groups and businesses to their local communities across regional and rural Victoria,” said Bank of Melbourne Regional Executive Mark Smyth.

“We encourage our customers to nominate an individual or group by calling in to any Bank of Melbourne branch or visiting the Awards Australia website.”

The award categories are:

  • Regional Victoria Living Expo Business Achievement
  • VACC Regional Safety
  • Ricoh Australia Customer Service
  • Medibank Healthy Participation
  • GippsTAFE and Federation University Gippsland Regional Achiever
  • Regional Victoria Living Expo Leadership and Innovation
  • Parks Victoria Environmental Sustainability
  • Prime Super Community Group of the Year
  • The South West TAFE and Deakin University South West Regional Achiever

Nominations close on 23 July 2014.

Fleur Leyden, Bank of Melbourne Media Relations - 0413 598 477

Regional Achievement & Community Awards: